Mercy Inducts Three Physicians Into Society of St. Luke - Mercy Medical Center

Mercy Inducts Three Physicians Into Society of St. Luke

Posted on: August 28, 2019

Mercy Medical Center recently honored three members of the Medical Staff for outstanding service to patients, the hospital and the Stark County community during the 2019 induction ceremony and dinner for the Society of St. Luke, Mercy’s physician honor society.  Honorees included Frank J. Kaeberlein, MD, FACEP, Margaret F. Kobe, MD, FAAP, and Russell L. Ramey, MD, FACS.

Over 185 guests were in attendance to share the evening event honoring the inductees, which was held at the Kent State University at Stark Conference Center.

Dr. Kaeberlein, an emergency medicine physician, was appointed to Mercy’s Medical Staff in 1992.  Board certified, he currently serves as chairman of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Mercy Medical Center and is the co-founder and co-director of Mercy’s Emergency Chest Pain Center, the first-ever fully accredited chest pain center in the entire United States. Dr. Kaeberlein is a past president of Mercy’s Medical Staff and has served as chairman of many committees, including the Medical Executive Committee, Medical Staff Performance Improvement Committee, Emergency Department Quality Improvement Committee, Sepsis Committee and the Observation Unit Task Force, in addition to being a member of a host of many other committees at Mercy.

A specialist in Infectious Disease, Dr. Kobe was appointed to Mercy’s Medical Staff in 1991.  Holding several board certifications, she is currently the chair for the Infection and Prevention Committee and also serves as a member of the ICU Committee, Critical Care Committee and the Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee.

Appointed to Mercy’s Medical Staff in 1995, Dr. Ramey is a board-certified general surgeon. He has served as chair of the Department of Surgery Quality Improvement Committee and has also been a member of the Medical Staff Performance Improvement Committee (MSPIC), Medical Quality Review Board (MQRB), Cancer Committee, Critical Care Committee, Intensive Care Committee and the Multidisciplinary Gastrointestinal Endoscopy Committee.

Charter members of the Society of St. Luke were inducted in 1996.  Candidate involvement in patient care, research, medical education and community activities must be of the highest caliber. The Society is now 54 members strong.

The society is named after St. Luke, author of the Bible’s third gospel and a physician often known as the “patron saint of physicians.” In his gospel, St. Luke emphasizes Jesus’ concern for all people, especially the poor and neglected.  In keeping with its Catholic mission, Mercy recognizes this compassionate spirit of medicine through the Society of St. Luke.

Please click here for media inquiries

Leave a Reply

Mercy Medical Center | 1320 Mercy Drive NW, Canton, OH 44708 |
Contact Us | Careers | Privacy Policy | Copyright © 2017 Mercy Medical Center